Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

10 Things I would do IF I was starting out my blog.

January 27 2021 , Written by Peter Wootton

10 Things I would do IF I was starting out my blog.

The basics of starting a blog is really crucial because your money is limited (that’s why you’re starting a blog in the first place) and you wanna invest the least money into the blog to make the most back.In reply to problogger’s post i wanna talk about 10 things i would do to start out my blog.

Product Creation

Before I do anything, I would make an ebook or a web script that is in current demand, this is what will get me the most traffic, and I might be either selling this for revenue right away or just giving it away for free in return for email RSS subscribers, that way I could sell sponsored reviews on the blog since advertisers like a high subscriber count in order to buy a sponsored post on a blog.

Other then that offering a product or a guide for a niche automatically makes you an authority in the niche because you are not only preaching the niche but you have paid content for it that proves your theories. In order to get the best out of my e-book, I would take around 1-2 weeks to research a niche that people want to know better or a new approach to make money online and do the whole MMO blog thing all over again.

Content Creation

Okay, usually people take 1-2 days to make up posts (i know I do…for specific posts), this time I would take up multiple topics on the niche my blog would be on and have different aspects of it written on my blog in a certain order, here is the breakdown

  • Niche Information – Guides and Definitions
  • Resources and Tools
  • Top sites in the niche
  • Success stories of the niche
  • Products and Services of the niche
  • Tips to prosper further more within the niche

These would not just be brief articles, there would either be series or 1000-1500 worded articles that would be insanely viral and filled with tons of information that people would love to share, this would get me a lot of exposure and social attention.

Theme Development

Before I start the blog and use all the tools/content at hand, I would need a good theme, for this part I will do some research on the current top 100 make money online blogs that they have at 45n5, then I would use all the info from those blogs to figure out a better UI that would get me the most exposure for the content while keeping my theme strictly eye-candy, this theme would use less usual HTML tricks and more CSS effects so that later on I could submit it to several CSS design galleries to get additional traffic.

A good unique theme for the blog would be good but 10 free themes would be even better, if its exposure you want, just release a free WordPress theme, you would get your fair share of exposure and then some. Free themes can get you a lot of deep links from other authority blogs if the theme is good and people are warming up to it, either I can make 10 normal eye-candy themes or maybe 1 theme that can be used for multiple purposes.

Blogrollers

Now for the link love, I would contact a few mid-large size bloggers in the niche to exchange blogroll links, which would be easier but there are always those really really big bloggers from whom you can’t get a link that easily for these you can just link to them without having them to reciprocate, this sets the tone of your blog and establishes a relation between your blog, the authority blogs and the niche in general. A lot of SEO value here.

Advertising

This is my favourite part, below is the list in the right order for how I would spend my money on advertising

  • John Chow review – $500
  • Blog catalogue listings – $100
  • Misc blog reviews – $500
  • Adwords campaign – $100/month
  • Stumble upon campaign – $200$/month
  • Paid comments – $100/month
  • Press releases – $300

Additional “stuff”

A blog for the main attraction is good, why stop there though?

I would like to expand in different ways other than just the blog (articles), a few of the things are below

  • Forums
  • Directories
  • Gallery
  • On-site Tools
  • Services
  • User-Blogs
  • User-Reviews
  • Memberships

I’ve done some of them with fun tonic and I plan to do more with content grounds, the more interaction with your users, the better business you will have, I always welcome comments and feedback from my users so that I can provide better information for you guys!

 Sub-Bloggers and Social Media

I would definitely have other authors at my blog to cover some ongoing news in the niche that I can not keep up with after all there’s just so much writing one author can do by himself, I would hire bloggers that know their way around social media and would write up news as it happens then use proper social media tactics to spread the article through the net. One thing to remember, every user on every social network has his own type of readers within the social network, it's important to get exposed as many genres of readers as possible some are readers some are hunting for info, some want eye candy, some want money and free stuff..etc. Other then that you can’t expect to gain the full potential of a social network just by submitting articles yourself, you need more help over little time why not hire bloggers that are on those networks already with admirable success on their hands?

Series and Attractions

Constant articles on different aspects is not enough so i’ll have to do some strategic content development here which will include series of articles where people can expect new articles on the same topics to be posted at a certain time, this will help me keep all the subscribers/readers hooked until for longer, usually readers give up on a blog after 3-4 days so this is the perfect strategy. Other then series, top tips and top resource lists do great too, specially if you have resources of your own niche

Monetization

Now this is truly my favourite part, figuring out the right mediums to use to earn the most  through the blog, I would definitely go with the following because I already have experience with them with blue verse so if I do start another MMO blog I would choose these in a heartbeat

  • NeverblueAds
  • PayperPost
  • Sponsored Reviews
  • E-junkie
  • Adsense
  • Adbrite
  • Private AD Platform

I love using oiopublisher, because it gives me tons of flexibility over my blog, a simple piece of code to add ads to any part of the blog which is maintained by one central admin page, this can also be extended to the forums and galleries by adding a javascript code.

Further Development

Never stop at one blog, I would go on in researching more opportunities of new revenue streams  (new blogs), with the money I earn with one blog will help me make another, the one money maker will help me make another which will help me grow faster and faster over time, this is a growth cycle that i love to go through when it actually is working perfectly, having a stable earner is a major accomplishment in my book.

That's about it, long post ay?
Lemme know what you guys think!

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
G
Gladly to came across this article about what to do if your starting to create a blog.
Reply